Got a PS Vita!

I finally picked up a PS Vita along with a few games; Mortal Kombat, Rayman Origins and Everybody’s Golf a couple of weeks ago on good old eBay. All of ’em I found to be a bit boring in all honesty. Everybody’s Golf was pretty fun but not fun enough to keep hold of while it had some selling power. I recouped about £20-odd quid making my 3G Vita and it’s 8GB memory about £100.

The main problem with the PS Vita is it’s lack of good quality games and it’s extortionate memory card prices. I think Sony rely on gorging it’s Vita owner this way just to justify the Vita’s existence.

Anyway, since I got Playstation Plus, it made no sense not to get a bigger memory card. I probably should’ve went for a 32GB but if anything Backloggery.com taught me, it’s best to focus on a few games to finish then try and play over ten games at once.

I was disappointed in Vita’s answer to the 3DS’ streetpass. Vita’s own Near system is problematic because it relies on an internet connection rather than local wireless connections between systems so it makes it rather limited. I don’t use the 3G connection namely because it’s just not worth it although I do have a data plan on my phone which I rarely use, it’s not worth the hassle getting out of the phone to use for a few moments on the Vita. This is probably the only reason to have 3G on your Vita otherwise it’s just pointless.

So far I played a few decent games, the only stand-out title so far being Virtue’s Last Reward. Having played 999 on the DS, I knew I’d play this to completion and did so yesterday. Great ending although I was confused on a few clarifications on the story, if anything it made me more confused.

The PS Vita does have some free-to-play games. The only one that I kept on my memory card was Treasures Montezuma Blitz, some Bejeweled clone but quite nice to play on-and-off. It has a limited play system (like Spiral Knights on the PC) but since I rarely play it, it’s not a problem.

The lack of good applications is frustrating though. The few useful ones are for social sites like Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare, Flickr and Youtube which work well. Other than that, there’s not much else to write about.

I don’t think I would’ve gotten the Vita if it wasn’t for Playstation Plus to be honest but maybe that’s why Sony decided to give out Vita games every month. I just installed LEGO: Lords of the Rings (doesn’t look that great though) and played a few rounds of When Vikings Attack, the online modes were fun in short bursts.

I hope the PS Vita gets a few more better games coming it’s way but for now I got games like Metal Gear Solid Collection, Uncharted Golden Abyss and Gravity Rush to play through. Not sure what I’ll do after that, selling it off might not be a bad idea (unless Starbound is suddenly announced).

Leave a Reply

